How I became a Mozilla Fellow for Science

My Mozilla Fellowship journey

I wrote a blog post for the Mozilla Science Lab to encourage everyone to apply for the 2017 Mozilla fellows for science cohort.

You can check out the whole post at the Mozilla Science Lab blog but here are a couple of key links.

I’ve put my applications online in the resources section of this website if you want to see what I wrote:

Here’s where you can find out more information and apply!

tl;dr: Apply today. It will change your life (even if you aren’t selected!)

Deadline: 14th May

This blog post is so close to this year’s deadline (14th May) because I find it so hard to put into words how much my membership of the Mozilla Science community has changed my life.

  • I’ve made friends
  • I’ve been mentored
  • I’ve mentored others
  • I’ve laughed
  • I’ve cried
  • I’ve felt overwhelmed
  • I’ve felt inspired

We can do this.

We are the future of science. You are the future of science. Don’t let anyone tell you that there are games you have to play because “that’s the way it works”.

Be the change you want to see in the world, and let all the wonderful folk at the Mozilla Science lab help you on that journey!

Kirstie on a hike in Edinburgh
Celebrating my first Mozilla fellowship application with a windy hike in Edinburgh. I wasn't selected but it got me started on the most exceptional journey of my life.